

City of Duluth

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-0563R **Name**:

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 8/14/2019 In control: Committee of the Whole

On agenda: 8/16/2019 **Final action:** 8/16/2019

Title: RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL PRIMARY ELECTION HELD

AUGUST 13, 2019.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Council Canvassing Report

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
8/16/2019	1	City Council	adopted	Pass

RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL PRIMARY ELECTION HELD AUGUST 13, 2019.

CITY PROPOSAL:

WHEREAS, the Duluth City Council finds as follows:

- (a) On August 13, 2019, there was held in the city of Duluth, pursuant to the provisions of Laws of Minnesota, 1973, Chapter 281, a municipal primary election for the purpose of electing certain city officers; and
- (b) The judges of the election districts in the city have made their returns of said election and the city council, acting as the canvassing board, has duly canvassed said returns at 12:00 p.m., August 13, 2019, and ascertained the number of ballots cast at said election and thereby declared that at said election there were 8,014 cast votes, said votes having been cast in the following manner:

Mayor

Emily Larson	5,225
Corey Ford	160
Caleb Anderson	206
Jesse Peterson	193
Doris Queen Lavender	83
John Socha	450
Daniel Weatherly	285
David Nolle	992
Donald Raihala	220

Council Member At Large

Arik Forsman	3,570
Noah Hobbs	3,313
Matthew William Stewart	242
Stephen Abernethy	498

File #: 19-0563R, Version: 1					
Mike Mayou	2,338				
Derek Medved	3,003				
Nathaniel Rankin	321				
Council Member District 3					
Roz Randorf	661				
Theresa O'Halloran-Johnson	454				
Ryan Glenn	80				
Henry Banks	185				

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Emily Larson and David Nolle, having received the two largest numbers of votes cast at said election for Mayor, are hereby certified to have their names placed on the general municipal election ballot and the city clerk is hereby directed to place their names on the general municipal election ballot.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that Arik Forsman, Noah Hobbs, Mike Mayou, and Derek Medved, having received the four largest numbers of votes cast at said election for Council Member at Large, are hereby certified to have their names placed on the general municipal election ballot and the city clerk is hereby directed to place their names on the general municipal election ballot.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that Roz Randorf and Theresa O'Halloran-Johnson, having received the two largest numbers of votes cast at said election for Council Member District 3, are hereby certified to have their names placed on the general municipal election ballot and the city clerk is hereby directed to place their names on the general municipal election ballot.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE: This resolution certifies the results of the Municipal Primary Election held on August 13, 2019.