City of Duluth



Legislation Text

File #: 23-0884R, Version: 1

RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL GENERAL ELECTION HELD NOVEMBER 7, 2023.

CITY PROPOSAL:

WHEREAS, the Duluth City Council finds as follows:

- (a) On November 7, 2023, there was held in the city of Duluth, pursuant to the provisions of Laws of Minnesota, 1973, Chapter 281, a municipal general election for the purpose of electing certain city officers; and
- (b) The judges of the election districts in the city have made their returns of said election and the city council, acting as the canvassing board, has duly canvassed said returns at 5:00 p.m., November 9, 2023, and ascertained the number of ballots cast at said election and thereby declared that at said election there were 13,121 cast votes, said votes having been cast in the following manner:

Mayor	
Roger Reinert	17,518
Emily Larson	11,716
Write - In	61
Council Member At Large	
Jenna Yeakle	9,418
Miranda Pacheco	8,140
Lynn Marie Nephew	14,134
Arik Forsman	17,527
Write - In	
Council Member District 1	
Timothy L. Meyer	3,376
Wendy Durrwachter	3,785
Write - In	46
Council Member District 3	
Roz Randorf	2,588
Write - In	76

File #: 23-0884R, Version: 1

Council Member District 4	
Tara Swenson	3,253
Howie Hanson	2,261
Write - In	33
Council Member District 5	
Ginka Tarnowski	1,830
Janet Kennedy	3,385
Write - In	31

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Arik Forsman, Lynn Marie Nephew having received the highest numbers of votes cast at said election for Council Member at Large, are hereby duly elected for a term of four years.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that Wendy Durrwatcher having received the highest numbers of votes cast at said election for Council Member District 1, is hereby duly elected for a term of four years.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that Roz Randorf having received the highest numbers of votes cast at said election for Council Member District 3, is hereby duly elected for a term of four years.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that Tara Swensen having received the highest numbers of votes cast at said election for Council Member District 4, is hereby duly elected for a term of four years.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that Janet Kennedy having received the highest numbers of votes cast at said election for Council Member District 5, is hereby duly elected for a term of four years.

FURTHER RESOLVED, Roger Reinert having received the majority of all votes cast at said election for the office of mayor is hereby declared duly elected for terms of four years.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE: This resolution certifies the results of the Municipal General Election held on November 7, 2023.